Overwatch
No comments

Overwatch Competitive Play Season 5 starts tonight

The 4th Competitive Season of Overwatch just ended on Sunday, but we’re rolling it over to Season 5 sooner than you may think. Today — yes, today — you can begin playing out your placement matches for the 5th season of Blizzard’s popular first person shooter.

They have this thing planned down to the minute, with a countdown ticker on the Competitive Play queue button in-game.

Season 5 starts May 31st, at:

  • 5pm PDT
  • 8pm EDT
  • 1am BST (Thursday, June 1)
  • 2am CEST (Thursday, June 1)

It doesn’t quite have the same ring as “high noon,” but it’ll have to do.

Complete your placement games before the season is over to receive the Season 5 player icon and animated spray. Both the spray and the icon are styled after the South African hybrid map Numbani. This is in addition to the season-end Competitive Point (CP) currency used to buy golden weapons, awarded based on the highest tier you reach in a season.

So get out there later today for another Competitive Play season! I heard a rumor the world could use more heroes, but that’s unsubstantiated at this time.

Blizzard Watch is made possible by people like you.
Please consider supporting our Patreon!

Join the Discussion

Blizzard Watch is a safe space for all readers. By leaving comments on this site you agree to follow our  commenting and community guidelines.