Login with Patreon
Diablo > Diablo 4Jul 24, 2023 1:00 pm CT

How to get Smoldering Ashes in Diablo 4

In Diablo 4 seasons, Smoldering Ashes are a currency used to buy Season Blessings. These Blessings offer your seasonal characters valuable buffs, including increased XP gain, among a variety of season-specific buffs that rotate. Season 1 revolves around these hearts, gem-like items that provide legendary-level powers which you can socket into gem slots on jewelry pieces.

To buy any of these Blessings, you’ll need to earn Smoldering Ashes on the Battle Pass. There are five Blessings available, each with four ranks, and there are exactly 20 Smoldering Ashes available on the Battle Pass. So if you play through the entire Battle Pass, you’ll be able to buy every Season Blessing.

But you won’t be getting any Blessings immediately, because they all have level requirements. You’ll get your earliest Smoldering Ashes at tier 8 on the Battle Pass, which doesn’t take much gameplay time — but the Ashes also have level requirements that could slow you down a bit. Though Blizzard has reduced the level requirements, there’s still a good chance that you’ll unlock Battle Pass tiers that include Ashes before you’re high enough level to use them. The first are available at level 28, while the last are available at level 88.

My advice is always to pick the Urn of Aggression Blessing first, as it boosts XP gains and will help you unlock future Season Blessings.

Here are all of the Battle Pass tiers that award Smoldering Ashes, as well as their level requirements:

  • Tier 8: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 28)
  • Tier 18: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 44)
  • Tier 22: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 49)
  • Tier 28: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 53)
  • Tier 32: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 55)
  • Tier 38: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 58)
  • Tier 48: Two Smoldering Ashes (requires level 63)
  • Tier 52: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 66)
  • Tier 58: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 70)
  • Tier 62: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 72)
  • Tier 68: Two Smoldering Ashes (requires level 74)
  • Tier 72: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 76)
  • Tier 77: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 78)
  • Tier 82: Two Smoldering Ashes (requires level 80)
  • Tier 88: Three Smoldering Ashes (requires level 82)

Whether you wind up collecting all of the Smoldering Ashes available or just nab enough to get the Blessings you want, have fun in Season 4!

Originally published July 24, 2023; updated May 14, 2024

Blizzard Watch is made possible by people like you.
Please consider supporting our Patreon!


Join the Discussion

Blizzard Watch is a safe space for all readers. By leaving comments on this site you agree to follow our  commenting and community guidelines.

Toggle Dark Mode: