Login with Patreon
Diablo > Diablo 4Jan 23, 2024 1:30 pm CT

Everything you need to know about Season Blessings in Diablo 4 Season 4

It’s time for a new Season in Diablo 4, which means an updated set of Season Blessings to help you through it. If you haven’t played Diablo 4 seasons before, Season Blessings are buffs you can buy with Smoldering Ashes, a currency you earn by progressing through the free Battle Pass (and no, paid Battle Passes don’t get any extra Ashes or progress faster). Each Blessing provides a unique buff to your seasonal characters, like increased XP or better rewards from the Tree of Whispers.

Here’s everything you need to know about Season Blessings in Diablo 4 Season 4.

How to earn Smoldering Ashes to get Season Blessings

In Diablo 4, the Battle Pass is part of each new Season — non-seasonal characters (on the Eternal realm) won’t have access to the Battle Pass or Season Blessings. You can only earn Smoldering Ashes and unlock Season Blessings for your seasonal characters.

When you play a seasonal character, you’ll progress through the Season Journey just by playing the game, earning Favor that progresses you through Battle Pass tiers. You can progress more quickly by focusing on completing specific Season Journey objectives, but really all you have to do is play the game and you’ll earn Favor as you go. Certain Battle Pass tiers will reward Smoldering Ashes. There is no other way to earn Smoldering Ashes: they are only rewarded through the Seasonal Battle Pass.

While there are paid versions of the Battle Pass, Smoldering Ashes are only available on free Battle Pass tiers, so anyone can earn them without paying a dime – and people who do pay don’t get any more than anyone else. Note that the Accelerated Battle Pass, for $25, includes tier skips that let players get through the Battle Pass faster, but it won’t earn Smoldering Ashes any faster, because those unlocks have a level requirement to avoid making Season Blessings a pay-to-win opportunity. No amount of cash will help you earn Season Blessings any faster.

There are a total of 20 Smoldering Ashes available on the Battle Pass, at the following tiers and levels:

  • Tier 8: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 28)
  • Tier 18: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 44)
  • Tier 22: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 49)
  • Tier 28: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 53)
  • Tier 32: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 55)
  • Tier 38: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 58)
  • Tier 48: Two Smoldering Ashes (requires level 63)
  • Tier 52: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 66)
  • Tier 58: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 70)
  • Tier 62: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 72)
  • Tier 68: Two Smoldering Ashes (requires level 74)
  • Tier 72: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 76)
  • Tier 77: Smoldering Ashes (requires level 78)
  • Tier 82: Two Smoldering Ashes (requires level 80)
  • Tier 88: Three Smoldering Ashes (requires level 82)

Blizzard decreased the level requirements to unlock Smoldering Ashes in Season 2, and they’ve kept the lower levels for seasons since, letting you unlock all of the major buffs well before you hit level 100. If you’re looking to rush through the levels, you’ll get your first four smoldering Ashes by level 53 to unlock all four ranks of the Urn of Aggression for a nice XP buff.

What are the Season Blessings in Diablo 4 Season 4?

Season Blessings are buffs for your seasonal characters. Some blessings stay the same season to season — like the Urn of Aggression’s XP buff — but others rotate with season-specific buffs. I always recommend picking up the Urn of Aggression first, and for Season 4 I would follow it with the Urn of Whispers and then the Urn of Nightmares.

Here are the Season Blessings for Diablo 4 Season 4:

  • Urn of Aggression: Increases XP earned from monster kills (+5% per rank).
  • Urn of Nightmares: Increases Paragon Glyph XP from Nightmare Dungeons (+5% per rank).
  • Urn of Iron: Increases your reputation earnings with the Iron Wolves (+5% per rank).
  • Urn of Burning Obols: Increases the amount of Obols you find in Helltide Chests (+10% per rank).
  • Urn of Whispers: Boost the chance to receive a Greater Collection from Whisper rewards (+10% per rank).

Each Blessing has four ranks you can purchase, and they cost one Smoldering Ash each. With 20 total ranks of Blessings to earn and 20 Smoldering Ashes available on the Battle Pass, you can unlock all Season Blessings by completing the Battle Pass.

Diablo 4 Season 4 is now live, and runs through August. If you’re eager to try out the latest Season, there’s still plenty of time — so jump in and start earning your Season Blessings.

Originally published July 13, 2023; updated May 15, 2024.

Blizzard Watch is made possible by people like you.
Please consider supporting our Patreon!


Join the Discussion

Blizzard Watch is a safe space for all readers. By leaving comments on this site you agree to follow our  commenting and community guidelines.

Toggle Dark Mode: