Login with Patreon
WoW ClassicJul 28, 2022 7:00 pm CT

Phase 6 now live! Here’s everything in WoW Classic’s Season of Mastery, which just rolled out its final Phase with Naxxramas and the Scourge Invasion

We’re well into WoW Classic’s Season of Mastery, with its accelerated release cycle sending players zooming through the whole of Classic at a speedy pace. Unlike the initial roll out of WoW Classic, the Season of Mastery plans to release Phase 6 within 12 months, so you’ll experience the whole game — plus some new challenges — within a year.

The actual content of each Phases is mostly unchanged from the original release, just being rolled out on an accelerated schedule, and the phases are moving at a breakneck pace. The game just rolled out Phase 6 with Naxxramas and the Scourge Invasion — this marks the last major content released for the original World of Warcraft, and the final phase of Season of Mastery.

If you want to know what’s been going on in Season of Mastery or what’s in the latest phase, read on as we give a rundown of what’s in the Season’s six content phases.

When will Season of Mastery Phases start?

We’re currently in Phase 6 of Season of Mastery, which rolled out the game’s last content push. Now that we’ve started the Scourge Invasion to unlock Naxxramas, we’re be in the final original content for WoW Classic.

Now let’s take a look at what’s in each phase, as well as more details about their release dates.

Everything in each WoW Classic Season of Mastery Phase

Phase 1: Live

  • Raids: Molten Core, Onyxia’s Lair
  • Dungeons: Maraudon
  • PVP: Honor System and Battlegrounds

This Phase will contain the initial raid content of WoW Classic, as well as the expansive starter dungeon Maraudon, which released after launch in the original game. And it will also see the release of the PVP Honor System and Battlegrounds, which originally launched in Phases 3 and 4 when WoW Classic went live.

The raids Molten Core and Onyxia’s Lair will be available during Phase 1, allowing players to go up against the Broodmother of the Black Dragonflight herself, Onyxia, followed by a dive into the Molten Core to confront the forces of the Firelord before facing Ragnaros himself.

dire maul west

Phase 2: Live

  • Dungeons: Dire Maul
  • World Bosses: Azuregos, Kazzak

While there will be no new raid content in Phase 2, the expansive four-wing Dire Maul dungeon will unlock during this time, allowing Paladins and Warlocks to get their Epic Mounts and making the Quel’Serrar quest chain possible to complete. In addition, the open world bosses Azuregos and Kazzak will be added to the game world, with Azuregos patrolling around Azshara while Kazzak wreaks havoc in the Blasted Lands.

classic nefarian

Phase 3: Live

  • Raids: Blackwing Lair
  • Events: Darkmoon Faire

Phase 3 heralds the arrival of the Darkmoon Faire, which in WoW Classic switches locations between Elwynn Forest and Mulgore. The Faire being open, you’ll be able to build the various Darkmoon decks as the cards will begin dropping, letting you build powerful trinkets tailored for your playstyle. Also, the first major new raid since Phase 1, the Blackwing Lair inhabited by the Black Dragon Nefarian, will open and players will have the chance to face off against Onyxia’s even more evil brother — and this raid is getting some pretty significant difficulty upgrades.

Phase 4: Live

  • World Bosses: Dragons of Nightmare
  • Raids: Zul’Gurub

In Phase 4, the Dragons of Nightmare world bosses coming to Azeroth. Lethon, Emeriss, Ysondre, and Taerar will spawn in one of four locations: Bough Shadow in Ashenvale, Dream Bough in Feralas, Seradane in The Hinterlands, and The Twilight Grove in Duskwood. Each Dragon spawns randomly in one of the four locations, but at least you never get two of them in one location. These dragons are a substantial source of Nature Resist gear that raiders will need for Ahn’Qiraj, which opens in Phase 5

In addition, the 20-player raid Zul’Gurub will open in Stranglethorn Vale, allowing players to face the Blood God Hakkar and his corrupted minions as well as earn favor with the Zandalari Tribe. Yes, even Alliance players.

With a new 20-player raid and the four world bosses, Phase 4 adds a substantial amount of content to keep players satiated. gong to open the gates of ahn qiraj

Phase 5: Live

  • Raids: Temple of Ahn’Qiraj, Ruins of Ahn’Qiraj
  • Events: Gates of Ahn’Qiraj

This Phase is dedicated to Ahn’Qiraj. First up will be the War Effort, as both Horde and Alliance players put aside their differences and gather materials to bring the fight to the Silithid and their masters, the Qiraji, lying in wait deep within the fortified ruins of Ahn’Qiraj.

Then the 20-player Ruins of Ahn’Qiraj and the 40-player Temple of Ahn’Qiraj raids will open once the War Effort is completed on a realm, unlocking the full content of both raids and allowing players to explore and combat the Qiraji menace.

This phase launched on April 21, 2022, a little under seven weeks after phase 4 went live in early March.

Phase 6: Live

  • Raids: Naxxramas
  • Events: Scourge Invasion

The frozen hordes of the Scourge (not to be confused with the Horde) will arrive in WoW Classic‘s Season of Mastery on July 28.

This Phase will focus on the Scourge and their invasion of Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms, led by the dread fortress Naxxramas. First up will be the extensive Scourge Invasion event, which contains quests, random spawns of undead in various zones, and the chance to collect rare armor sets dedicated to destroying these Undead fiends surging across Azeroth.

Then it becomes time to take the fight to the enemy, as Naxxramas itself opens — this 40 player raid is the pinnacle of WoW Classic and will be the final raid content for your characters in the Season of Mastery.

So get out there and enjoy the last lap  WoW Classic’s first Season of Mastery. We have yet to see when the Season will be considered done, although we know players currently playing Season of Mastery will be able to transfer their characters to either a Classic Era realm or a Wrath Classic realm once it finishes. With Wrath Classic coming out on September 26, you have plenty of time to finish Naxxramas before Classic presents you with more to do.

Originally published November 16, 2021, updated July 28, 2022.

Blizzard Watch is made possible by people like you.
Please consider supporting our Patreon!


Join the Discussion

Blizzard Watch is a safe space for all readers. By leaving comments on this site you agree to follow our  commenting and community guidelines.

Toggle Dark Mode: