Login with Patreon
WoWApr 2, 2024 12:15 pm CT

Dragonflight Season 4 brings rotating raids, new old dungeons, and Awakened loot — live April 23!

As promised by yesterday’s post, Dragonflight Season 4 is now live on the PTR, and while there aren’t a lot of surprises, there are a lot of confirmed details about how Season 4 will work in-game as far as dungeons, raids, and loot will go — including some exciting news for owners of Dragonflight legendaries Nasz’uro and Fyr’alath hoping to take them for a season-long spin.

Dragonflight Season 4 launch on April 23 — here’s what you need to know about the expansion’s final season.

Dragonflight Season 4 dungeon rotation

Season 4 dungeons: 

  • Algeth’ar Academy
  • Brackenhide Hollow
  • Halls of Infusion
  • Neltharus
  • Ruby Life Pools
  • The Azure Vault
  • The Nokhud Offensive
  • Uldaman: Legacy of Tyr

While we already knew changes were coming to the dungeons — changes which Blizzard once again reiterated — we hadn’t yet seen exactly which dungeons would be in the Mythic+ pool, although we could make educated guesses based on updated items in the 10.2.6 patch notes. Now we can confirm that the Mythic+ dungeon pool for Season 4 is made up of the original eight Dragonflight dungeons; Dawn of the Infinite is notably not included, but is still being boosted by the overall boost in difficulty and reward for Mythic dungeons. Blizzard isn’t just throwing the dungeons back out in the state you remember them, however; they’re receiving massive tuning changes, likely with more to come in the future once players are running keys en masse on the test realm. These changes are especially welcome in dungeons like Halls of Infusion, which is finally getting a mid-dungeon checkpoint should you die after the giant frog boss, or Azure Vaults, which needed to account for the removal of an oft-used skip that enabled players to avoid almost the entire last leg of the dungeon.

Awakened raids are the new Fated raids

We also learned some news about the Awakened raids, which are the new Fated raids. Awakened raids will rotate on a weekly basis, with one raid at a time being marked as Awakened. This will empower bosses in that raid but will also reward a higher tier of loot, ensuring that raid groups will more than likely rotate between the raids each week, keeping things fresh even in the “victory lap” season.

  • Week 1: Vault of the Incarnates
  • Week 2: Aberrus, the Shadowed Crucible
  • Week 3: Amirdrassil, the Dream’s Hope
  • Week 4: Vault of the Incarnates
  • Week 5: Aberrus, the Shadowed Crucible
  • Week 6: Amirdrassil, the Dream’s Hope
  • Week 7 and onward: All raids are awakened

What kind of upgraded loot, you might ask? Well, we know that the most powerful loot in Season 4 will have access to an “Awakened” upgrade track, allowing items to reach as high as that of Mythic raid gear. Legendaries aren’t being left out, either; Fyr’alath and Nasz’uro owners will be able to upgrade their legendary to a base item level of 502 via a Scale of Awakening, then continue to upgrade it with Flightstone and crests. You’ll still be able to get legendary drops, if you haven’t gotten lucky enough to get them yet. You’ll also be able to earn one Antique Bronze Bullion per week by defeating bosses in the Awakened raid, which will let you buy Awakened loot as well as the aforementioned Scale of Awakening — or, more importantly, transmog appearances.

Additionally, completing all three raids at Awakened difficulty on Normal will reward the Voyaging Wilderling mount. Completing them on Heroic will give you the title “Awakened Hero.” Finally, completing them on Mythic difficulty will earn you Path Portals — teleports to the three raids’ entrances that you can use from anywhere in the world.

We’re also seeing the results of Blizzard surveying the community on their favorite Dragonflight tier set appearances and bonuses; end bosses of Awakened raids drop a new omni-token called the Awakened Tempostone, allowing anyone of any class to purchase new tier sets that bear the winning combination of appearance and set bonus.

Originally published March 27, 2024; updated April 20, 2024

Blizzard Watch is made possible by people like you.
Please consider supporting our Patreon!


Join the Discussion

Blizzard Watch is a safe space for all readers. By leaving comments on this site you agree to follow our  commenting and community guidelines.

Toggle Dark Mode: