Login with Patreon
WoWFeb 5, 2018 5:00 pm CT

Everything you need to know about level boosting a character in WoW

Battle for Azeroth pre-orders are officially live, and with them, players will find they’ve been given a fresh level-110 character boost. But with Legion being so chock-full of content, there are probably a couple questions you’ll have before boosting. Like, say, do you get all Artifact weapons, or do you only get one of them?

Fear not! Below, we’ll go into all the details about level-boosting a character so you’re not left unprepared.

But first, if you haven’t played World of Warcraft in a while or this is your first time boosting a character, there are a couple other things to know as well about level-boosting. We’ll start with a general overview level-boosting, not tied specifically to Legion content.

Getting started

Boosting a character is pretty simple. Just log on and go to the character select screen, click the boost icon in the upper right hand corner. You can either click on one of your existing characters to boost or create a brand new character to use. It should be noted that if you boost a level-100 trial character as opposed to a brand-new, low-level character, they’ll be given a level three garrison and a few extra bags. In essence, there’s no reason not to boost a trial character if you’re planning to boost a fresh character to 110. So we recommend taking an extra minute to make a new character manually: just click create new character, pick your class, and then select “class trial” at the top of the screen. When you’re done customizing your character, click on the level boost icon and select them.

Do also note, however, that the influx of boosts has caused a bit of a slowdown in how long it takes to boost a character. Just be patient!


If you boost a character who is level 60 or higher, you’ll get a “Veteran Bonus” and have your professions and First Aid skill boosted to 700 automatically. And if you don’t have professions selected you’ll automatically be given professions based on your primary armor type.

  • Plate wearers will learn Blacksmithing and Mining.
  • Leather users will learn Leatherworking and Skinning.
  • Clothies will learn Tailoring and Enchanting.

Unfortunately, trial characters are not eligible for the Veteran Bonus. Although, if you’re looking to boost a Death Knight, a quick jaunt through the starter zone should get you to level 60 — and then you will get the Veteran Bonus for boosting.

Heritage armor for Allied Races

If you’ve already unlocked one or more Allied Races and want to use the boost on one, you’ll need to be aware that you won’t get the Heritage Armor set for that race. What’s Heritage Armor? It’s an appearance-only armor set that thematically matches with your race.

Heritage Armor can only be earned by leveling an Allied Race from start to finish (20 to 110) — level-boosting or Recruit-a-Friend bonuses will make you ineligible for the armor set.

Legion-specific content

As for what a boost itself gets you in terms of Legion content…

Where to go, what to do

If this isn’t your first character at level 110, you probably know what to do next. If not, though, there are a couple places to go, depending on what your endgame goal is.

  • You’ll start in Dalaran with the first quest towards unlocking Argus (more on that in a minute). You either have to progress in that chain through Sizing up the Opposition or wait 24 hours to be able to do anything else.
  • every class has an Order Hall campaign that tells a story unique to that class. Completing this is not only great for story, it ends with the acquisition of your class mount. Just go to your class hall and follow the quest markers to get started.
  • In a similar vein, if you want to try out more than one spec for your class, be sure to unlock your other Artifact weapons via your Class Order Hall, and, again, follow the quest markers.
  • If you want to experience the story content for Legion, head to your Class Order Hall and select a zone to start in — with zone scaling, it doesn’t matter where you start. Your first class hall quests should walk you through this, but basically just head to your scouting table and pick a zone
    • While you can go to them in any order (though the game pushes you to start with Argus), after the four Legion leveling zones, the order in terms of story is Suramar, then the Broken Shore, and finally Argus. Check your Adventure Guide for quests to get started.
      • To unlock Legion’s leveling zones — Azsuna, Val’Sharah, Highmountain, and Stormheim — go to the scouting map in your class hall and pick the zone you’d like to play through. You can go through them in any order you’d like.
      • To unlock Suramar, complete Khadgar’s Discovery.
      • To unlock the Broken Shore, complete The Broken Shore: Investigating the Legion. (If you’ve already unlocked the Broken Shore, you can just fly there and grab the first quest.)
      • To unlock Argus, complete The Hand of Fate (A)/The Hand of Fate (H).
  • You can fly on the Broken Isles! But first, you’ll need to complete two different achievements. Well, technically more than two, since each is a meta. If you’ve already completed these achievements, congratulations because you can fly immediately.

Legion has added so much content in its lifespan, and it’s not even technically over. It can be overwhelming, especially if you’re playing your very first level-110 character. Blizzard has added catch-up mechanics to make things easier, but it’s also made it slightly more confusing to know what you can and can’t do, and what you need to do to do what you want to do.

Hopefully this has helped get you on your feet! If you have any questions — or advice — feel free to comment below.

Blizzard Watch is made possible by people like you.
Please consider supporting our Patreon!


Join the Discussion

Blizzard Watch is a safe space for all readers. By leaving comments on this site you agree to follow our  commenting and community guidelines.

Toggle Dark Mode: